Installing the availability calender

Installing the availability calender

Postby Tony » Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:44 pm

Hi Chris, I hope you or someone else in the forum can help as I have no programming experience. I have uploaded the files as mentioned in point 1 of the readme file but point 2 looses me. It says Modify the connect_db.inc.php file with your db values OR modify all php files that refer to the db connection to point to your current db connection file. What do you mean by db values and where would I find them. I don’t have a database, should I have one? I intend to use the calendar on my website at http://mojacarsands.co.uk/ can you help?

Thanks
Tony

Re: Installing the availability calender

Postby chris » Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:49 am

Hi there and welcome to the forum.

Yes, I am afraid for this calendar to work you need to have a database set up to save the dates that are "booked".

Most moderen hosting services come with at least the possibilit of having one mysql data base. Ask your provider about this and if they could create one for you. They should then provide you with the data that you need to create the table and the access it for the code. ie:

hostname
database name
user
password

Let me know if this isn't clear or if you need further help setting this up once having the database ready as I realise that, if this is your first time working with databases it is quite daunting stuff :)

Chris
chris
Site Admin

Postby Tony » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:13 pm

Thanks for your advice Chris. i now have a database and mysql. I'm not sure what the diffencee between the two is so still working on that. I probably wont get much done this week or next so if I dont resond its because I'm in Spain on holiday for the next week.
Thanks
Tony

Postby chris » Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:09 pm

hi again,
"database and mysql" and really are one and the same. Well, to be more precise mysql is a type of database.