Selecting date ranges

Help with installation and general calendar setttings

Selecting date ranges

Postby mattbed » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:18 am

Hi there
Does anyone know if it is possible to select a range of dates when updating bookings rather than selecting each day individually?
If not maybe it could be added as a feature in the next version?
Cheers
mattbed
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:09 am

Re: Selecting date ranges

Postby chris » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:26 pm

Hi,
No, this is not possible in the this version.
However I am sure that it could be done with a bit of JavaScript knowledge.

The reason I haven't done it in this version is that it complicates matters somewhat code wise.
We need to tell the code somehow that on an initial click it mustn't do anything until it receives a second click. I wanted to avoid this sort of complication.

That said I might consider looking into to this on the next version if I actually ever manage to find time to move it on.

Chris
User avatar
chris
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:42 pm
Location: Málaga, Spain

Re: Selecting date ranges

Postby mattbed » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:58 pm

Ok thanks.
I think that is slightly outside my capabilities so ill just leave it for now.
Thanks again :)
mattbed
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:09 am

Re: Selecting date ranges

Postby keyboarder » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:48 pm

I have recently introduced the calendar in the current stage to 3 different clients. Everyone (!) has criticed not to have tha ability to choose a certain date range. One typical answer was:
Interestingly re the programming for multiple date selection, our experience with other websites shows 2 ways of doing that :
(i) with "ABC.company" you can select a range of dates in one go with the cursor, then click once on a "Mark as Booked" button and it automatically shows all that range as booked (that's what we would like to see on yours)
(ii) on some other websites, e.g. "CBA.company", you enter the start and end dates in 2 input data boxes on the screen and press an "Update" button - the range is then shown as booked.


To increase the acceptance of the script and to be somewhat more competitive with other calendars, I believe this is quite an important issue. Is there any chance to be implemented in a near future version ? (I would be willing to pay for such updates...)
keyboarder
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: Selecting date ranges

Postby Fontijn » Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:39 pm

Didnt want to make my own thread since there is still one with the information i would write down otherwise.
Have you given any thaught about this option yet?
Since i would realy like this feature to be added.
Fontijn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:34 pm

Re: Selecting date ranges

Postby chris » Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:52 am

Hi,
I may well include something along these lines in a future version, if I ever get time to finish it :)

Chris
User avatar
chris
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:42 pm
Location: Málaga, Spain

Re: Selecting date ranges

Postby Fontijn » Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:41 pm

:D You can also make time :lol:
But anyway i love your product sofar and im currently adding a stylesheet picker for different calenders.

Thanks for your reply and have a nice day.
Fontijn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:34 pm

Re: Selecting date ranges

Postby chris » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:19 pm

:D You can also make time :lol:

Ah, but I am currently using my availble time to do client work. Unfortunately the calendar on it's own doesn't make me any money but the bills still have to be paid ;)
User avatar
chris
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:42 pm
Location: Málaga, Spain

Re: Selecting date ranges

Postby flu » Fri Oct 07, 2011 1:29 pm

Would love to see this function in the near future :)
flu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:15 pm


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron