Can't get into admin

Help with installation and general calendar setttings

Can't get into admin

Postby andy4729 » Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:19 pm

Hi there.

This is the first time I've ever done anything with php and mySQL so I don't really know that much so please treat me like a complete newbie.

I have created a database and installed the calendar but when I try to log in to admin nothing happens. I have entered the username and password correctly (admin, demo) then clicked log in, the page then just seems to refresh and the username and password fields are cleared.

However, beneath the log in area of the page I have the following:

Warning: Unknown: open(/var/php_sessions/sess_78e108c481e4da0727c1d3fd7b0502dd, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/var/php_sessions) in Unknown on line 0

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks a lot,
Andy
andy4729

Re: Can't get into admin

Postby chris » Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:47 pm

Hi,
It looks like your server does not have Session writing activated.

To fix this you need to get in contact with your hosting provider and ask them to turn it on and/or fix the path error (the path to where the server writes the session details). If you send them the message that you have added here they should be able to see what is going on.

Chris
chris
Site Admin

Postby andy4729 » Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:56 pm

Thanks a lot.

I use iPage and have sent them a message with the required information. I'll post again when they get back to me.
andy4729

Postby andy4729 » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:02 pm

Oh wow...

I realised I hadn't changed the permissions of the contents of the lang folder to 777 (only the folder itself) so I've now done that and it works!

Hurrah!
andy4729

Postby ssalive » Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:38 pm

I'm pretty new to this stuff too so...